Shanghai joins Beijing, offers visa-free travel

Shanghai joins Beijing, offers visa-free travel

Shanghai follows the capital in waiving visas for transit tourists
Transit travelers can visit the city without a visa from 2013.

Shanghai has decided to waive visas for transit passengers from 45 countries for stays of up to 72 hours in the city, after Beijing announced a similar policy last week.

Shanghai has been offering visa-free stays for some transit travelers for a maximum of 48 hours. The policy will be extended to 72 hours from January 1, 2013. 

Transit passengers can enter Shanghai through Hongqiao and Pudong airports. The new ruling does not apply to visitors arriving by ship or train.

More on CNN: Visas waived for Beijing transit travelers

The 45 visa-free countries are:

Argentina, Austria, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Japan, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, United Kingdom and United States.

See CNN Travel's detailed section on Shanghai.

CNN Partner Hotels


Cycling around the world
Taking the long way home on two wheels is going to be tough. We're here to smooth the ride


Hello Kitty Chinese Cuisine dim sum
What happens when you merge possibly the two best things on Earth? Hello Kitty dim sum


American Southwest photo
A photo pro explains how to capture some of America's most famous landmarks while dealing the summer travel crowds